The Internet is a rich source of information. As educators, one of our goals is to create critical thinkers who will use the skills they have learned in academe to evaluate every piece of information that comes their way Hormon (2007).  I often associated locating information on the Internet with the analogy “ like finding a needle in a haystack”. This association remained until I gained the appropriate skills to evaluate Internet content. I recently viewed a YouTube video (Media Literacy Project, G. Leach, 2007)  that analyzed the sexual, violent and greed references in popular music. After my initial viewing, I almost accepted the message that was conveyed. However, after a closer analysis, I realized the author was only analyzing two of the hundreds of genres of popular music. My initial viewing of this video led me to wonder if certain genres of music depicted a considerable amount of sex, violence and greed in comparison to the larger scope of the music industry. However, I decreased validity in this message once I realized the analysis was comparing apples to watermelons. I would have given more credit to the video if a comparison had been made between two genres of music such as Rap and Heavy Metal. However, Rap compared to Alternative music will usually end with the results gathered from this video.
    This video is a prime example of the need for students to be able to think critically and not accept every idea published to the Internet. The Internet is open to free publication; therefore, anyone’s opinion can be expressed. Theses opinions can persuade the beliefs of individuals who are not taught to think critically. This can lead to misguided research and decreased learning. As the Internet continues to grow and develop, more people will utilize its flexible structure to acquire information. Those who dare to utilize the Internet as a reference source should remember that everyone has an opinion, however, everyone’s opinion is not driven by facts.

References:
Hormon, J. C. (2007). Let them use the Internet: Why college instructors should encourage student Internet use. College Teaching 55 (1), 2-4. 
  




Leave a Reply.